stillpdf.blogg.se

Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon
Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon













mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon
  1. #Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon install
  2. #Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon upgrade

Maybe this option will be enabled/added to a future "dot release" of 10.6.

mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon

I've read that there are some third-party applications that can accomplish this automatically, but I have yet to give them a spin. It's nice that they thought about backwards compatibility with the early Intel chipsets (32-bit versions), but I thought there would be a better way to boot into the new 64-bit kernel than holding down the "6" and "4" keys during startup. While I do appreciate the 64-bit applications, it's odd that Apple didn't include a way to, by default, boot into the 64-bit kernel. I also noticed that I can eject mounted volumes (flash drives, servers, CDs/DVDs) consistently without those "device currently being used" messages I used to see in Leopard quite frequently. Using the same USB 2.0 drive I've always used, my backups simply fly. Another big speed improvement is in Time Machine. I don't believe it is that large (~4-5MB if I recall correctly, but I could be off), so it doesn't make much of an impact.

#Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon install

If they are, be sure to install Rosetta it's not installed by default. I'd advise you to look in System Profiler to see if any of your programs are running PPC code. Actually, if you have MS Office 2008, it also runs some PPC code in some of the XML support files. I did not install any of the language translations or QuickTime 7, but I did install Rosetta since I still have some PPC programs (I'm talking about you, Quicken). On the MacBook Pro, I regained around 10GB of space. Safari is more snappy, and I really like the responsiveness of the rewritten Finder. Mail opens and closes in half the time it took before, and startup/shutdown times have greatly improved. I've noticed a speed bump in most things Apple and in some other applications (Adobe CS4 being the best example). I do wish I could convince Apple that I'm not fluent in over 15 languages and have them uncheck those language translations by default, but it's easy enough to do this myself.

#Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon upgrade

The installation went smoothly (even the in-place upgrade from 10.5.8), so no complaints there. So I went ahead and performed a clean install of 10.6. It didn't, and it really started to annoy me. It was having some issues (icons rearranging themselves on the desktop) before 10.6, so I was hoping that (somehow) 10.6 would fix this. I just did an in-place upgrade of my new MacBook Pro and things went great.















Mac os x 10.6 snow leopard amazon